Lilly Library is piloting a new Locker Pickup Service to allow users to pickup Library Materials or items arriving through PALShare or ILL via lockers in the front entrance of Lilly Library. This allows users to pick up materials in a contactless manner, regardless of time of day and library open hours.
ILL items: Users may request Locker pickup in the ILL request form for books and media items.
Holds and PALShare items: When placing a hold request, select Lilly Library - Locker pickup in the drop down list under "Pickup Options". Items will be automatically placed in a locker once they are available.
(Please note: The default Pickup Option is Lilly Library; which is in-person pickup at the Circulation Desk during open hours)
Anyone who requests a locker pickup will receive an email from library staff once requested items have been placed in a locker. This email will include the number of the locker which contains your items and will provide you with the combination to access the locker and instructions for how to do so. Users may access the front entrance of Lilly Library via card swipe, locate their locker, and follow instructions to open the locker and remove their items.
Items will only be placed in lockers Monday-Friday.
Items will remain in lockers for 7 days. After that time period has passed, items will be removed from lockers. ILL and PALShare items will remain at the Circulation desk for in person pickup, and Earlham College Libraries materials on hold will be returned to the library stacks.
We will continue to make changes to this program as we get user feedback and make improvements to set up.
Please see our Hours page for details on hours for Lilly Library.
Grab and Go service continues to be available at Lilly Library for students, faculty and staff of Earlham College, ESR, and Bethany. This service only applies to books and media owned by Earlham College Libraries. To participate, place a hold request for an item that is owned by Earlham College and currently listed as available in the library catalog.
(To place a hold: Search for items in the catalog, limit Held by Library to Earlham College, click the title of the item and click Request Hold. On the hold form, please choose that you want "Specific Copies or Volumes" and select the copy you want from the Lilly or Friends collections listed).
At this time we are unable to offer pickup services to members of the general community.
Items must be placed on hold by 8am in order to be available for pickup same day/next business day (i.e. holds placed by 8am Tuesday will be available for pickup Tuesday; items placed on hold after 8am will be available for pickup the following business day). You will receive an email when your items are available for pickup.
Please note: Friends Collection and College Archives materials are pulled Monday-Friday, depending on staff availability. Check for the hold pickup email to verify that your materials are ready before coming in to the library.
Pick up locations: Circulation Desk (Pick up available during regular library hours.) OR
Lockers in lobby area (24/7 pickup - see information above on Locker pickup for more details)
User notification: Notices are sent from a firstname.lastname@example.org address and may get caught in your spam filter; if you think your item should have arrived and you haven't seen an email, please check your spa
If you have problems locating an item in our catalog or placing a hold, please contact email@example.com for assistance.
Please continue to use the book drop to return items to the library. The book drop is located to the left of the main entrance when you are facing the library (south side of the main entrance).
Please note: Reserve items, equipment, and Board Games should NOT be returned via the book drop. Please return those to the Circulation Desk during library open hours.
Users who are off-campus may return items by mail if desired (mail to: Lilly Library 801 National Road West Richmond IN 47374). If you have questions or concerns about returning library materials, or are unable to return items for any reason, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Friends Collection and College Archives are open to on-campus students, faculty and staff of Earlham College, ESR, and Bethany. Members of the general community are welcome, but must make an appointment in advance of arriving on campus.
Members of the Earlham community can place holds on books in the Friends Circulating Collection. Holds from the Friends Collection will be available for pickup at the Circulation desk on the main floor of Lilly Library. For more information on available services for the Friends Collection and College Archives and for the most up-to-date information on reference and digitization services, please see their home page.
Library eResources are available to users from the campus community who are currently off-campus. To access our Databases, please use the links on our A-Z database list, and enter your Earlham College username (without @earlham.edu; no capital letters) and password when prompted. If you have problems accessing any of our databases or other eResources, please check our page on Off-Campus connection help or email email@example.com.
You can continue to access other eResources (ebooks, electronic journals/articles, etc.) through the library catalog or the Journal Title Advanced search.
Streaming films can be accessed by the campus community through the library catalog, or by going directly to Films on Demand, Kanopy or Theatre in Video. Earlham can also obtain streaming films through Swank Digital Campus: contact firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance. Due to copyright, we do not rip library DVDs to post online. If no Earlham options are available, students may have to use personal Amazon, Hulu, or Netflix memberships they might already have access to, or pay less than $5 to rent a title from a commercial provider (e.g. Amazon, iTunes, Google Play, etc.). Faculty are encouraged to be flexible.
If you need research help or other assistance from Librarians, please see our Research Help guide to contact librarians via email or chat or schedule an appointment.
Access to existing guides for Fall Semester classes is still provided through the library web pages.
Finally, Library Subject guides are also still available for reference.
If you have questions, please email us at email@example.com.
All locations closed:
Memorial Day - May 29
Juneteenth - June 19
July 4 Holiday - July 4
Monday - Friday 9am - 4:30pm
Friends Collection and College Archives
Tuesday - Friday 9am-12pm & 1-4pm
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095