Listed below are databases that provide information about the genes and proteins involved in the diseases you are studying.
These databases may also include references to primary literature. To determine whether or not the Earlham Libraries have access to a given journal article that you've identified, cut and paste the title into the the "Find it @ Earlham Libraries" citation linker.
Databases introduced for gene and transcript analysis:
- Gene (NCBI)
Gene is a searchable database of genes, from RefSeq genomes
- GeneCards
"GeneCards® is a searchable, integrated database of human genes that provides concise genomic, proteomic, transcriptomic, genetic and functional information on all known and predicted human genes."
- Gene Wiki
"The Gene Wiki is a project that transfers information on human genes to Wikipedia articles with the goal of expansion of the articles.....dedicated to applying community intelligence to the annotation of gene and protein function."
- H-DBAS
"Genome annotation for alternative splicing" -- this site uses a new way of analyzing genomic sequence data to predict genes.
Databases introduced for protein, mutation and physiology investigation:
(Note that you will need the formal gene abbreviation to best access the information relevant to your disease topic)
OMIM (NCBI)
"Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man. OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources."
HPRD
Human Protein Reference Database -- sharing of protein information
PDB (RCSB Protein Data Bank)
"The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies
KEGG PATHWAY is a collection of manually drawn
pathway maps representing our knowledge on the molecular interaction and reaction networks
