Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Tipasa (Interlibrary Loan)
Allows you to log into your library account to review the status of your interlibrary loan requests, renew requests and duplicate completed requests.
The link above logs you in to the patron interface; click on the Requests tab to access ILL options.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world‘s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new window
More than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new window
Thousands of streaming CDs of audio books and spoken word. Includes modern and classic fiction, radio plays, poetry, theater, and more.
Written in the Language of the Scottish Nation by John Corbett
Although much work has been published on certain aspects of translation into Scots, this timely book is the first comprehensive account of Scots translations from the fifteenth to the twentieth century. From the period before Gavin Douglas's translation of the Aeneid to John Byrne's recent adaptation of Gogol's The Government Inspector, this survey argues that translation plays a central role in the development of literature in Scots, lending authority to the vernacular, and extending the stylistic range open to writers in Scots. The survey draws upon insights from Translation Studies to examine the role of translation in a nation whose status is periodically redefined. The history of translation into Scots can be seen as a microcosm of the history of the Scottish nation and its culture. The case of Scots translation also raises important issues for Translation Studies, in particular the problem of the translator's 'visibility' when he or she cannot hide behind the neutrality of a standard language. This book is essential reading for those who are interested in Translation Studies, and should be enjoyed by anyone interested in the development of Scots and Scottish Literature.
Publication Date: 1999
The Syntax of Old Norse by Jan Terje Faarlund
This book offers the first account of Old Norse syntax for almost a hundred years and the first ever in a non-Scandinavian language. The language of the Vikings and of the Old Icelandic sagas is the best documented medieval Germanic language and the author is able to present a comprehensive analysis of its syntax and overviews of its phonology and morphology. He supports his analyses with examples taken from Norwegian and Icelandic manuscript editions. ProfessorFaarlund's approach is descriptive, in a generative framework with a minimum of technical detail. He includes a complete bibliography of Old Norse syntax.The book is intended for advanced students and scholars of historical linguistics, Germanic and Scandinavian languages, Norse philology, and all others with a serious interest in Nordic languages, civilizations, and history.
Publication Date: 2004
International Bibliography of Dance & Theatre This link opens in a new window
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's index to international journal and books on literature, linguistics, languages, folklore, and film studies, 1926 to present.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is an online tool for film and television research with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Historic Newspapers & Magazines
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Find illustrations and cartoons from magazines.
Scotland and Edinburgh
Scotland - Edinburgh and the Lothians by Martin Li
Publication Date: 2011
Includes an extensive introductory section on Scotland as a whole. Comprehensive background information - history, culture, geography and climate - gives you a solid knowledge of each destination and its people. Regional chapters take you on an introductory tour, with stops at museums, historic sites and local attractions. Places to stay and eat; transportation to, from and around your destination.
Scotland: A Very Short Introduction by R. A. Houston
Since Devolution in 1999 Scotland has become a focus of intense interest both within Britain and throughout the wider world. In this Very Short Introduction, Rab Houston explores how an independent Scottish nation emerged in the Middle Ages, how it was irrevocably altered by Reformation, links with England and economic change, and how Scotland influenced the development of the modern world. Examining politics, law, society, religion, education, migration, and culture, he examines how the nation's history has made it distinct from England, both before and after Union, how it overcame internal tensions between Highland and Lowland society, and how it has today arrived at a political, social and culture watershed. Authoritative, lucid, and ranging widely over issues of environment, people, and identity, this is Scotland's story without myths: an ideal introduction for those interested in the Scots, but also a balanced yet refreshing challenge to those who already feel at home in Scotland past and present.
Publication Date: 2008
Steaming into a Victorian Future by Julie Anne Taddeo; Cynthia J. Miller
A popular sub-genre of fantasy and science fiction, steampunk re-imagines the Victorian age in the future, and re-works its technology, fashion, and values with a dose of anti-modernism. While often considered solely through the lens of literature, steampunk is, in fact, a complex phenomenon that also affects, transforms, and unites a wide range of disciplines, such as art, music, film, television, fashion, new media, and material culture. In Steaming into a Victorian Future: A Steampunk Anthology, Julie Anne Taddeo and Cynthia J. Miller have assembled a collection of essays that consider the social and cultural aspects of this multi-faceted genre. The essays included in this volume examine various manifestations of steampunk--both separately and in relation to each other--in order to better understand the steampunk sub-culture and its effect on--and interrelationship with--popular culture and the wider society. This volume expands and extends existing scholarship on steampunk in order to explore many previously unconsidered questions about cultural creativity, social networking, fandom, appropriation, and the creation of meaning. With a foreword by popular culture scholar Ken Dvorak, and an afterword by steampunk expert Jeff VanderMeer, Steaming into a Victorian Future offers a wide ranging look at the impact of steampunk, as well as the individuals who create, interpret, and consume it.
Publication Date: 2013
Clockwork Rhetoric by Barry Brummett (Editor)
This unique book explores how the aesthetic and cultural movement "Steampunk" persuades audiences and wins new acolytes. Steampunk is an aesthetic style grounded in the Victorian era, in clothing and accoutrements modeled on a heightened and hyper-extended age of steam. In addition to its modeling of attire and other symbolic trappings, what is most distinctive is its adherents' use of a machined aesthetic based on steam engines and early electrical machinery: gears, pistons, shafts, wheels, induction motors, clockwork and so forth. The aesthetic was first articulated in literature in the works of Jules Verne and H. G. Wells. The American West later contributed images to the aesthetic--revolvers, locomotives, and rifles of the late nineteenth century. Among young people steampunk has found common aesthetic cause with Goth style. Examples from literature and popular culture include William Gibson's fiction, China Miéville's novels, the classic film Metropolis, and the BBC series Doctor Who. This volume recognizes that steampunk, a unique popular culture phenomenon, presents a prime opportunity for rhetorical criticism. Steampunk's art, style, and narratives convey complex social and political meanings. Chapters in Clockwork Rhetoric explore topics ranging from jewelry to Japanese anime to contemporary imperialism to fashion. Throughout, the book demonstrates how language influences consumers of steampunk to hold certain social and political attitudes and commitments.
Publication Date: 2014
Steampunk Style Jewelry by Jean Campbell
This how-to jewelry-making book features the work of an array of invited jewelry designers influenced by the growing Steampunk trend. In Steampunk circles, jewelry-makers are often master metalsmiths who combine found objects with fine metals to create elaborate pieces. In "Steampunk-Style Jewelry," the projects focus on "no fire" techniques-like simple stringing, wirework, hammering, stamping, gluing, stitching, and off-loom beadwork-so that even a beginner can create pieces in the style. Each project provides a complete materials and tools list, step-by-step instructions, and clear illustrations. This book offers a broad overview of a growing design trend that is part of the literary, industrial design, fashion, and popular culture scene. Readers will learn about the art movement through the many photographic sidebars that explore the many aspects of the trend.
Publication Date: 2011
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095