Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Labor in America by
Publication Date: 2017
Give a survey history of American labor from colonial times to the present.
Check out the subject essays & the "Further Reading" chapters.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor by
Publication Date: 2004
The history of the American labor movement is filled with advances, triumphs, setbacks, decline, and resurgence. This two-volume A-Z resource covers the history of organized labor in all of its complexity, from the dawn of the industrial revolution to the "post-industrial age."
The Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History by
Publication Date: 2009
This comprehensive encyclopedia is the first detailed collection of historical research on strikes in America. To provide the analytical tools for understanding strikes, the volume includes two types of essays--those focused on an industry or economic sector, and those focused on a theme. Each industry essay introduces a group of workers and their employers and places them in their economic, political, and community contexts. The essay then describes the industry's various strikes, including the main issues involved and outcomes achieved, and assesses the impact of the strikes on the industry over time.
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
America: History and Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from pre-history to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals dating back as far as 1910. Allows for searching by historical time period, a major advantage given the extensive range of its coverage.
Business Source Complete
The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text, indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Hi, I'm Amy!
Subjects:African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095