It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & LawThis continuously growing library contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Includes: every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery; hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery; every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920; more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century; modern histories of slavery and a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject.
Oxford African American Studies CenterOver 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York TimesFull-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals CollectionEBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage extends to 1940 at the latest.
Provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). This site currently links to more than 10,000 items from 30 libraries. The shared collection continues to grow, providing ready access to a world-class collection of primary source materials from the American Civil War era.