Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
American National Biography
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Blackwell Companion Handbooks
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online)
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Blackwell publishes a very useful series of "handbooks" or "companion" books in many disciplines, including history. History companions are available for a range of topics, and many volumes include historiography essays. You can search the entire Blackwell collection, by subjects, or within individual titles.
A Companion to Western Historical Thought by 24 chapters by leading historians who discuss conceptions of and approaches to the human past stressing long-term patterns and traditions in historical thinking that survive to this day.
Publication Date: 2006
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Britain by A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Britain presents 33 essays by expert scholars on all the major aspects of the political, social, economic and cultural history of Britain during the late Georgian and Victorian eras. Truly British, rather than English, in scope. Pays attention to the experiences of women as well as of men. Illustrated with maps and charts. Includes guides to further reading.
Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to 20th-Century America by A Companion to 20th-Century America is an authoritative survey ofthe most important topics and themes of twentieth-century Americanhistory and historiography. Contains 29 original essays by leading scholars, each assessingthe past and current state of American scholarship Includes thematic essays covering topics such as religion,ethnicity, conservatism, foreign policy, and the media, as well asessays covering major time periods Identifies and discusses the most influential literature in thefield, and suggests new avenues of research, as the century hasdrawn to a close
Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to American Cultural History by A Companion to American Cultural History offers ahistoriographic overview of the scholarship, with special attentionto the major studies and debates that have shaped the field, and anassessment of where it is currently headed. 30 essays explore the history of American culture at allanalytic levels Written by scholarly experts well-versed in the questions andcontroversies that have activated interest in this burgeoningfield Part of the authoritative Blackwell Companions to AmericanHistory series Provides both a chronological and thematic approach: topicsrange from British America in the Eighteenth Century to the modernday globalization of American Culture; thematic approaches includegender and sexuality and popular culture
Publication Date: 2008
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by This entirely new edition of a keystone reference is the place to start researching any topic in any field of history. Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--to provide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century. Presented in an accessible format, this completely new work has been ten years in planning and execution. It is divided into sections arranged by chronology and national and regional history, with each section introduced by a brief historiographical essay. And it also contains expanded coverage of Africa, Asia, and North and South America. Each bibliographic citation is identified by a unique reference number and includes all essential data, along with a brief critical annotation written by a specialist in the field. Also included are guides to the contributors of annotations and complete author and subject indexes. An indispensable work for scholars, students, librarians, and general readers, the AHA Guide to Historical Literature is essential for anyone who is serious about history. -
Publication Date: 1995
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing by This unique Encyclopedia surveys all forms of historical writing throughout the world, from earliest times to the present, covering historical traditions of nations and analyzing theoretical topics from chronicles to feminist interpretations, modern schools from progressives to the Annales, as well as examining the latest developments in cultural history, cliometrics, postmodernism, and other contemporary topics. Spotlights neglected writers from many cultures The Encyclopedia discusses individual historians from antiquity to the present day, from the greatest names in western historical writing past and present to many historians previously excluded from general accounts, such as women and writers from non-western cultures. Bibliographies cite references on and by the writer examined; Extensively cross-referenced by subject and fully indexed Index. Bibliography.
Publication Date: 1998
Historiography by Compiled from ABC-Clio's history databases which cover some 2,000 major scholarly journals published in over 40 languages. From this source abstracts of articles published from 1970 to 1985 were selected, along with book and dissertation citations. The books were selected for their importance to historians in all fields, and were reviewed in at least one journal. Volume 1 covers bibliographies, conferences, books, dissertations, and individual historians. Volume II has a geographic classification and covers virtually every region of the world.
Publication Date: 1987
Reader's Guide to American History by There are so many books on so many aspects of the history of the United States, offering such a wide variety of interpretations, that students, teachers, scholars, and librarians often need help and advice on how to find what they want. The Reader's Guide to American History is designed to meet that need by adopting a new and constructive approach to the appreciation of this rich historiography. Each of the 600 entries on topics in political, social and economic history describes and evaluates some 6 to 12 books on the topic, providing guidance to the reader on everything from broad surveys and interpretive works to specialized monographs. The entries are devoted to events and individuals, as well as broader themes, and are written by a team of well over 200 contributors, all scholars of American history.
Publication Date: 1997
The Blackwell Dictionary of Historians by The Blackwell Dictionary of Historians provides an authoritative and readable source book for students and specialists. It includes entries on over 450 historians, dating from Herodotus to the present. Individuals have not necessarily been chosen on account of the importance of their own research but rather for their interest in, and influence on, the theory and practice of history and the role of the historian. In particular the Dictionary includes details of historians most frequently encountered by students following courses on historiography. Over 200 specialists have contributed to the Dictionary which is organized alphabetically, and includes a comprehensive index.
Publication Date: 1988
American Women Historians, 1700s-1990s by With profiles of some 200 women historians, this book offers an opportunity to explore women historians' motivations, accomplishments, and rich legacies.
Publication Date: 1996
Clio's Favorites by This book is available as an ebook. Click on the title to link directly to the ebook.
Although historians talk about each other's work routinely, they have been reluctant to record their thoughts about the leading practitioners of U.S. history. Robert Allen Rutland attempts to remedy this state of things with this collection named for Clio, the Greek muse vested with the inspirations of history. The volume offers a glimpse of the lives and work of historians who must be considered among the most remarkable from the last half of the twentieth century. The roll call of excellence for Clio's Favorites was established after Rutland informally polled some twenty-five historians, asking them to name the outstanding workers in the field of U.S. history since the end of World War II. Among the criteria for selection were: quality (not volume) of the historian's work; influence in the field of study; importance of his or her graduate and undergraduate teaching; and the figure's public persona as reflected by awards, honors, and involvement in public service.
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing by The Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writingcontains over 800 entries ranging from Lord Acton and Anna Comnena to Howard Zinn and from Herodotus to Simon Schama. Over 300 contributors from around the world have composed critical assessments of historians from the beginning of historical writing to the present day, including individuals from related disciplines like Jürgen Habermas and Clifford Geertz, whose theoretical contributions have informed historical debate. Additionally, theEncyclopediaincludes some 200 essays treating the development of national, regional and topical historiographies, from the Ancient Near East to the history of sexuality. In addition to the Western tradition, it includes substantial assessments of African, Asian, and Latin American historians and debates on gender and subaltern studies.
Publication Date: 1999
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095