Earlham Libraries Home: HIST/AAAS 379- America at Mid-Passage: Historic Newspapers

Find a Newspaper from a certain place and time

The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify what newspapers were available in a particular place and time for U.S. newspapers. Click on this link to search the Newspaper Directory.

Historic newspaper search hints

Because language changes, be sure to use search terms used at the time the materials were created, even if those terms are now obsolete. For example, the following historic terms will produce more results than their modern-day counterparts:

Modern Usage vs. Historic Usage comparison table
Modern Usage	Historic Usage
gas, service station	filling station
African American	Afro American, Negro
voting rights	suffrage

From:Chronicling of America-(The Library of Congress) - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/help/

Civil War Era Newspapers

Pennsylvania Civil War Collection - newspapers from the civil war era from 1831 to 1877.

Richmond Daily Dispatch - news from the capitol of the Confederacy from 1860-1865.

American Civil War Newspapers includes the ability to browse by subject

Civil War Newspapers 1859-1866 is a listing of online Civil War era newspapers organized by city name.

Historic Newspaper Archives

New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
access limited to Earlham students and employees

Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and Magazine
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes many newspapers, including The Liberator.

Some Internet Sites with Historic Newspapers

Viewshare -- Historical Newspapers Online
One of the most complete historical US newspaper guides. Include searching by map, timeline, state, audience, etc.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
View newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
Find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Elephind.com
A search engine that searches a number of newspaper repositories at once.
Free Newspaper Archives in the U.S.
Links to sites with archives for U.S. newspapers.
Historical Newspapers & Indexes on the the Internet - USA
Links to sites with indexes and/or full text historical newspapers.
National, State, & Local Newspaper Archives
Links to Internet sites with historical newspapers from the United States.
U.S. News Archives on the Web (Special Libraries Association)
Links to Internet sites with historical newspapers from the United States.

Historical Popular Magazines

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.

Amy

Amy Bryant

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Request a Research Appointment

765-983-1302

Subjects: African & African American Studies (AAAS), Art, Chinese Studies, History, Museum Studies, Music, Theatre Arts, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies