Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Known Articles
Steps for finding items listed in bibliographies
- Locate a bibliographic citation. Look at the list of sources in subject encyclopedias and bibliographies.
- Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
"Find It @ Earlham Libraries" can help determine if articles are in databases and also can facilitate searching for books in our library catalog.
- Request items through interlibrary loan. Use the forms in Tipasa or use the links in WorldCat and databases.
Historic newspaper search hints
Because language changes, be sure to use search terms used at the time the materials were created, even if those terms are now obsolete. For example, the following historic terms will produce more results than their modern-day counterparts:
|Modern Usage vs. Historic Usage comparison table
|gas, service station
||Afro American, Negro
From:Chronicling of America-(The Library of Congress) - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/help/
America: History and Life
The most comprehensive resource for finding articles on US and Canadian history. Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,700 journals in over 40 languages back to 1964.
In the limits you can narrow your search results to articles covering specific ranges of years.
Can also limit by language.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
MLA International Bibliography
Modern Language Association's index to international journal and books on literature, linguistics, languages, folklore, and film studies, 1926 to present.
Historical Popular Magazines
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
Historic Newspaper Archives
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095