Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mid-Passage Slave Trade Primary Documents
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This continuously growing library contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Includes: every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery; hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery; every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920; more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century; modern histories of slavery and a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Black Authors, 1556-1922 This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 550 fully catalogued and searchable works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. It contains wide-ranging genres, including personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions.
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
Select Public Websites:
Images & Objects
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095