Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Decades This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 10-volume reference set from Gale (2001). Provides sociocultural contexts of a given decade, 1900-1990s.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
A Companion to Post-1945 America by
Publication Date: 2007
A Companion to Post-1945 America is an original collection of 34 essays by key scholars on the history and historiography of Post-1945 America. Covers society and culture, people and movements, politics and foreign policy Surveys and evaluates the best scholarship on every important era and topic Includes book review section on essential readings
Daily Life Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of over four dozen print volumes that explore different cultures and everyday life around the world, past and present, including the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.
Dictionary of American History This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 10-volume, 3rd edition set from Charles Scribner's (2003).
African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed. by
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095