Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal and Magazine Articles
America: History and Life
The most comprehensive resource for finding articles on US. Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,700 journals in over 40 languages back to 1964.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
Full text of over hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more. Articles can usually be considered Primary Documents
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
Historic Newspaper Archives
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, weekly news publications and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
access limited to Earlham students and employees
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and Magazine
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Historic newspaper search hints
Because language changes, be sure to use search terms used at the time the materials were created, even if those terms are now obsolete. For example, the following historic terms will produce more results than their modern-day counterparts:
|Modern Usage vs. Historic Usage comparison table
|gas, service station
||Afro American, Negro
From:Chronicling of America-(The Library of Congress) - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/help/
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095