Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Earlham Self-Study: Chapter 6 - Criterion Three

Criterion Three: Teaching and Learning - Quality, Resources and Support

The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

3.A. The institution's degree programs are appropriate to higher education.

1. Courses and programs are current and require levels of performance by students appropriate to the degree or certificate awarded.

Academics

2. The institution articulates and differentiates learning goals for its undergraduate, graduate, post-baccalaureate, post-graduate and certificate programs.

Governance Manual

3. The institution's program quality and learning goals are consistent across all modes of delivery and all locations (on the main campus, at additional locations, by distance delivery, as dual credit, through contractual or consortial arrangements or any other modality.)

Curricular Vision Statement
3.B. The institution demonsrates that the exercise of intellectual inquiry and the acquisition, application and integration of broad learning and skills is integral to its educational programs.
Center for Integrated Learning
1. The general education program is appropriate to the mission, educational offerings and degree levels of the institution.

General Education

Liberal Arts

Advising Focus Groups

2. The institution articulates the purposes, content and intended learning outcomes of its undergraduate education requirements. The program of general education is grounded in a philosophy or framework developed by the institution or adopted from an established framework. It imparts broad knowledge and intellectual concepts to students and develops skills and attitudes that the institution believes every college-educated person should possess.
3. Every degree program ofered by the institution engages students incollecting, analyzing and communicating information; in mastering modes of inquiry or creative work; and in developing skills adaptable to changing environments.
4. The education offered by the institution recognizes the human and cultural diversity of the world in which students live and work.
5. The faculty and students contribute to scholarship, creative work and the discovery of knowledge to the extent appropriate to their programs and the institution's mission.

2012 NSSE Faculty/Student research

NASCE

STEV (Theollogical Exploration) Grant

Religious Life

3.C. The institution has the faculty and staff needed for effective, high-quality program and student services.
1. The institution has sufficient numbers and continuity of faculty members to carry out both the classroom and the non-classroom roles of faculty, including oversight of the cirriculum and expectations for students performance; establishment of academic credentials for instructional staff; involvement in assessment of student learning. Faculty Handbook
2. All instructors are appropriately credentialed, including those in dual credit, contractual and consortial programs.
3. Instructors are evaluated regularly in accordance with the established institutional policies and procedures.
4. The institution has processes and resources for assuring that instructors are current in their disciplines and adept in their teaching roles; it supports their professional development.
5. Instructors are accessible for student inquiry.
6. Staff members providing student support services, such as tutoring, financial aid advising, academic advising and co-curricular activities are appropriately qualified, trained and supported in their professional development.
3.D. The institution provides support for student learning and effective teaching.
1. The institution provides student support services suited to the needs of its student populations.
2.  The institution provides for learning support and preparatory instruction to address the academic needs of its students. It has a process for directing entering students to courses and programs for which the students are adequately prepared.
3.  The institution provides academic advising suited to its programs and the needs of its students.

Advising Focus Group

2012 NSSE

4.  The institution provides to students and instructors the infrastructure and resources necessary to support effective teaching and learning (technological infrastructure, scientific laboratories, libraries, performance spaces, clinical practice sites, museum collections, as appropriate to the institution’s offerings).

Plowshares Report

Journal of Religion, Conflict and Peace

NetVUE

5.  The institution provides to students guidance in the effective use of research and information resources.
3.E. The institution fulfills the claims it makes for an enriched educational environment.
1. Co-cirricular programs are suited to the institution's mission and contribute to the educational experience of its students. Student Development
2. The institution demonstrates any claims it makes about contributions to its students' educational experience by virtue of aspects of its mission, such as research, community engagement, service learning, religious or spiritual purpose and economic development.

Principles and Practices

International Diversity

Diversity Vision Statement

Diversity Progress Committee

Residence Life

Wellness and Athletics

Athletics Website

Equestrian Program

Wellness and Athletics

Student Government Constitution

Sexual Aggression Advocates

International Student Support

Assessment of Counseling Services

Tederman Report

Charge for Tobacco Policy

Co-Curricular Learning Goals

EBI Assessment

NASCE

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095