Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal and Magazine Articles
Magic, Ritual, and Witchcraft
"A peer-reviewed scholarly journal, Magic, Ritual, and Witchcraft draws from a broad spectrum of perspectives, methods, and disciplines, offering the widest possible geographical scope and chronological range, from prehistory to the modern era and from the Old World to the New. In addition to original research, the journal includes book reviews, editorials, and lists of newly published work. " -- Project Muse Description
"...one of the earliest English-language journals in the field of folkloristics, first published as The Folk-Lore Record in 1878." JSTOR description.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward. Historiography is a subject heading!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexes international periodicals, multi-author books, and reviews in religion. Includes fulltext of over 500 religion and theology journals, and links to religion content in Academic Search Premier.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1910s.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for finding articles on US and Canadian history. Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,700 journals in over 40 languages back to 1964.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095