Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of electronic books on every subject you can imagine.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2020.
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.
Ebook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection that includes more than 205,000 e-books
covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books
from leading publishers and university presses. All e-books are available
with unlimited user access, and new titles are added regularly to the
"ARKive is creating the ultimate multimedia guide to the world's endangered animals, plants and fungi."
Encyclopedia of Life
"Imagine an electronic page for each species of organism on Earth..." - Edward O. Wilson
IUCN List of Threatened Species
"Taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction "
National Biological Information Infrastructure
"The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is a broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources. The NBII links diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools."
Tree of Life
"The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny)."
USDA Plants Database
"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
U.S. FIsh & Wildlife Service: Conserving the Nature of America
"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. "
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095