Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Very early accounts
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Do a search on cholera and then set the display to sort from oldest to newest. That will take you back to the 1660s!
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
Morrison-Reeves Library - Local Newspaper Index
Search for cholera, limit OPAC to local newspapers. Browse the titles to get a flavor of the several epidemics sweeping our area in the late 1880s and early 1990s. Go to the library to read the articles.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional
Full-text information on congressional legislation (bills, laws, regulations) and committee appointments.
Interesting Assortment of Health-related Articles
Science Journal Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subjects and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly review articles for all the sciences (plus other fields). Some full text access. The other articles can be read by consulting the print volumes. They are cataloged as books: look up the call number in the library catalog.
General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciene, math, medicine, and physics, 1938 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online, full text or as print.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the biomedical literature; includes over 12 million citations from 1966 to the present. Limiting to Earlham's subscriptions or to specific types of literature, such as clinical trials.
Indexes and abstracts the biomedical literature; includes over 12 million citations from 1966 to the present maintained by the National Institutes of Health. This version of MEDLINE has specialized search features but can't limit search to Earlham's subsc
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095