Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete texts of over 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.
Pop Culture and American History
American Decades This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 10-volume reference set from Gale (2001). Provides sociocultural contexts of a given decade, 1900-1990s.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present. Currently on trial--See a librarian for a username and password.
Race & African American Studies
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed. by Colin A. Palmer
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095