Earlham Libraries Home: All Biology: Find Articles

Comprehensive Databases

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free-to-access scholarship on biomedical and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Medical journals covering nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, plus full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Elsevier (Science Direct)
Science direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive information on nearly 11,000 species of birds.
Birds of the World contains 10,721 species accounts from every bird species in the world and is an entirely new scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from four different ornithological volumes: Birds of North America (BNA), Neotropical Birds, Handbook of Birds of the World (HBW Alive), and Bird Families of the World.

American Society for Microbiology Journals (ASM)
Search all 11 jfulltext ournals from the American Society for microbiology (Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Immunology, MMBR...).

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Yearly summaries of current research in the field for natural and social sciences.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Scholarly scientific journal articles, particularly in the areas of vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment.
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

PubMed Central
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and general periodicals in all disciplines. Full text and print. 1990's to the present.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major journals from all science disciplines. Access to full text or in print in Earlham's collection.
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.

---------------------------------------------------

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.