Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

POLS 363: Israeli Politics in the Middle East: Online databases

Guide to information resources for the course research project.

Online databases

An all purpose database of both popular and scholarly resources.  All in English.  For much of the bibliographic content there also is full text.

 

"Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs." --Database introduction.

 

This search tools provides access to bibliographic information on books, book chapters, journal articles and unpublished sources.  The bibliographic information may or may not lead to the full text. In you are using Google Scholar off the campus network you need to set your Scholar Preferences (a link beside the "Search" button).

 

A collection of full text articles from about 800  scholarly journals considered to be the preeminent journals in their respective disciplines. Coverage for each title is from volume 1, number 1 up to about 3-5 years ago. There is always a three to five year gap between the latest volume in JSTOR and the current year.

 

An index to newspapers worldwide.  Although predominately English language coverage there are also titles in Western European languages, e.g., French, Spanish, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Italian.

 

  • The New York Times

Coverage begins in 1851 and continues to today.  For the historical file from 1851 to 2005 use ProQuest's Historical Newspapers and for the more recent years including some overlap use Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095