Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best general purpose reference sources
- Blackwell Reference Online
the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries,
handbooks, and other reference works from Blackwell Publishing,
including the Blackwell Companions.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Online version of the famous encyclopedia.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized reference works.
- Oxford Reference Online
Contains the complete texts of over 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.
- Reference Universe
across the indexes of many reference works with this unique tool.
Earlham does not have all of the works indexed; the little book icon
next to the title indicates we have it.
- The contemporary Middle East : a documentary history by John Felton. Reference: DS42 .F44 2008
- Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestineian conflict: culture,history, politics. Reference: DS 119.7 .F3813 2005
- An historical encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict edited by Bernard Reich. Reference: DS 119.7 .H544 1996
- Israel in the Middle East
: documents and readings on society, politics, and foreign relations,
pre-1948 to the present edited by Itamar Rabinovich and Jehuda
Reinharz. Reference: DS126.5 .I784 2008
- Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa, Philip Mattar, editor in chief. Reference: DS43 .E53 2004
- Historical dictionary of United States-Middle East relations by Peter L. Hahn. Reference: DS63.2.U5 H3472 2007
- The Middle East. Reference: DS63.1 .M484 2007
- The Routledge atlas of the Arab-Israeli conflict by Martin Gilbert. Reference: G2236.S1 G52 2005
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095