Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Online Reference Sources
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Oxford Reference Online : Art & Architecture
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles. Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Print Reference Sources
Here is just a selection of some of the print reference resources we have at the library. Use the library catalog to find more specific items on your topic and to find books in the circulating collection.
General information on ceramics:
- The Dictionary of Art -- REF N31 .D5 1996
- Materials & Techniques in the Decorative Arts: An Illustrated Dictionary -- REF NK30 .M38 2000
Specific guides to artists or cultures:
- Dictionary of Women Artists -- REF N8354. D5.3 1997
- Contemporary Women Artists -- REF N8354 .C66 1999
- North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century -- REF N6503. N6.7 1995
- Art and Artists in the 20th Century -- REF N33. P74 2000
- Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art -- REF N6502 .E53 1999
- Museum of American Folk Art Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century American Folk Art and Artists -- REF NK808 .R6 1990
- St. James Guide to Native North American Artists -- REF E98.A7 S8 1998
- St. James Guide to Black Artists -- REF N40. S7.8 1997
- St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists -- REF N6538. H58 S7 2002
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art by Hope B. Werness & Hope D. Werness
Publication Date: 2000
Focuses on the symbols, meaning, and significance of art in native cultures. The major art forms for each culture - including worldview, religion, and society - are treated in detail. Broad subjects, such as rites of passage, are treated in the general entries which address universal motifs and themes. Other major issues included here are color, the role of animals in art, color symbolism, and the symbolism of the various parts of the human body.
Materials and Techniques in the Decorative Arts by Lucy Trench
Publication Date: 2000
In our industrialized society, it is often difficult to Devoted to the fascinating materials and techniques used in the decorative arts. Each core material,(glass, ceramics, textiles, paper, plastics, leather, metal, stone, wood, and paint) is covered from its raw state through any processing or preparation to various craft stages and finally, to any surface finishing.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Gerald W. R. Ward
Publication Date: 2008
Deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more. Offers scholarly information on materials and techniques in art for anyone who studies, creates, collects, or deals in works of art.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics - 2nd Edition by Michael Kelly
Publication Date: 2014
Expanded from the 1998 first edition, the second edition of the Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society—from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. The second edition includes increased coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media like computer art, and areas like neuroaesthetics that were not thoroughly covered in the first edition.
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095