Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

Friends Collection and College Archives: Things We're Looking For

For detailed information about archival & genealogy collection availability check the archives home page.

Sought After Items and Collections

We are always on the lookout for new things to add to our collections, especially Earlham College and Midwestern Quaker materials. Listed below are some of the things we know we are missing and specifically seeking out. This list is by no means complete, so when in doubt, please get in touch! You can email us at archives@earlham.edu.

Specific Items:

  1. Earlham College Newspapers (Earlham Press, Quaker Quill, Earlham Post, Earlham Word): We have a large collection of college newspapers, but we know we are missing some issues and/or some of our issues aren't in the greatest shape. We're always interested in these.

General Items:

  1. Photographs: We love photos, print and digital, Earlham and Quaker. This is one of our most popular collections. We'd love to see your photos!
  2. Diaries
  3. Letters
  4. Scrapbooks
  5. Autograph books
  6. Artifacts
  7. Ledgers

 

Things we don't currently need

There are some things we have in abundance, so we are not currently seeking them out. Here's a list of things we know we don't need at the moment. (If you want a copy of the items listed below, please get in touch! We may have a duplicate copy we can send you.)

Earlham Things

  1. Sargassos 
  2. Earlhamites
  3. New Faces
  4. Faculty/Staff Directories

Deed of Gift

When you donate something to our Archive, we will usually ask you for a signed copy of our Deed of Gift (below). The Deed of Gift provides us with a list of the items you are donating, any information you have on the items, intellectual and physical property rights, restrictions on use or access of the materials, your contact information, and any other information you think may be useful to us. The form can either be filled out electronically and emailed to us archives@earlham.edu or printed and mailed to us at:

Earlham College, Lilly Library
Attn: Archivist
801 National Road West
Richmond, IN 47374

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095