Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Primary Document Collections on the public web
American Presidency Project
Contains over 100,000 primary secondary sources regarding the presidency. Includes:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
Documenting the American South
Primary source material "documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It offers diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles on slavery and regional literature."
Making of America
Contains over 3.8 million pages of original printed text from over 10,000 volumes of primary sources. Originally concentrated on the development of US infrastructure during the antebellum period and reconstruction, but it has since expanded its scope.
Women's Studies in Digital Archives
Identifies women's studies content available in broad digital collections of primary sources.
US National Archives
Provides access to over 1,200 digitized documents from the records of the US government. Searchable by keywords and tags.
Library of Congress - Digital Collections
From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States and their associates.
Historical Popular Magazines
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
Historic Newspaper Archives
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
access limited to Earlham students and employees
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and Magazine
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Historic newspaper search hints
Because language changes, be sure to use search terms used at the time the materials were created, even if those terms are now obsolete. For example, the following historic terms will produce more results than their modern-day counterparts:
|Modern Usage vs. Historic Usage comparison table
|gas, service station
||Afro American, Negro
From:Chronicling of America-(The Library of Congress) - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/help/
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095