Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Art Images
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books dating from the present to 1937. Includes a collection of over 63,000 images.
Open Internet Sources
Art History Resources on the Web
Mega collection of art history image sites maintained by Sweet Briar College.
An online fine art stock photo archive, with more than 500,000 searchable fine art images from a variety of sources. Metadata lists owning institution.
Getty Research Institute Open Content Images
Thousands of high-resolution images from the Research Institute include drawings and watercolors, artists’ sketchbooks, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks and 19th-century photographs of the Middle East and Asia.
Google Cultural Institute Art Project
Google partnership with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. You can build your own image collections. Advanced search features include limiting by collection, place, medium, artist, and more.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Selected works of art in the Museum's collections.
National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
A repository of more than 20,000 open access digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art.
Rijksmuseum Impressionism gallery
The Rijksmuseum allows very high resolution downloads, but they require the creation of a "Rijksstudio" account, which is free.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Search
Search archival, print and digital content. Over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries, including the American Art Museums, the Portrait Gallery, Archives of American Art, National Museum of American History, and more.
Image Search Engine -- Pay special attention to source to find images from reputable sites.
Associate Library Director
Earlham Scanning Instructions
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095