Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers Project
This resource includes 2,900 transcripts of life histories based on interviews done between 1936 and 1940 as part of the Federal Writers Project. Audio not available.
Columbia Center for Oral History
The Columbia Center for Oral History (CCOH) was founded by historian and journalist Allan Nevins in 1948 and is credited with launching the establishment of oral history archives internationally. At over 10,000 interviews, the CCOH Archives is one of the largest oral history collections in the United States. The Columbia Center for Oral History Archives is housed at the Rare Book & Manuscript Library in Butler Library and is open to all.
Korean-American Digital Archive
Includes 180 sound files that include interviews documenting the Korean American experience in the 20th century. This collection also includes photographs and other documents.
New York Public Libray Community Oral History Project
Provides online access to hundreds of interviews documenting specific neighborhoods and areas within New York City.
Oral Histories from the Library of Congress
Numerous oral history projects including Olympic History, Presidential Oral History, and much more.
Oral History Project in Labor History (Roosevelt University)
Transcripts of oral history interviews with Roosevelt founders and labor movement leaders entitled: "Oral History Project in Labor History".
Rutgers Oral History Archives
This resource provides transcripts of oral history interviews with New Jersey or Rutgers alumni who service in the armed forces since and including World War II as well as people with a story about New Jersey’s history and people involved with the history of Rutgers University. Can search as well as browse these interviews.
Southern Oral History Archive
Provides online access to audio of interviews with a variety of individuals who have lived in the US South. This resource also includes the transcripts of interviews and allows you to browse to specific occupations, and ethnicity or search by keyword.
Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
Produced by the American Folklife Center thiws resource collects and makes available personal accounts of U.S. war veterans. Not all of the interviews are online but some have transcripts, audio, and video files. You can search this collection or browse to records for interviews.
Yale-UN Oral History Project
This resource contains transcribed interviews with key players, including United Nations officials and ambassadors from various countries, in major international events in the second half of the 20th century.
Credit to Harriet Lightman's guide at http://libguides.northwestern.edu/c.php?g=562755&p=3874324
Hi, I'm Amy!
Subjects:African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095