Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.
Links to Primary Document Collections Online
Discovering American Women's History Online
Database of digitized primary source collections covering American Women's history. Historical periods range from 17th to 21st centuries. Browse by subjects, states, time periods, primary source type or search by keyword.
American Memory - Browse and Search by Subject
A growing collection of digitized primary documents mostly on American history. You can search the collection by time period, place and broad topic. Library of Congress subject headings as used in the Earlham catalog will also work in this database.
American Memory - Chronological List
Chronological list of documents in American Memory
Documenting the American South
Primary source material "documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It offers diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles on slavery and regional literature."
Books and Media
Primary documents are often published as monographs. Adding the term "sources", or similar terms such as "correspondence" or "diary" to your library catalog search terms to help find these collections.
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095