Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Earlham Scanning Instructions
Finding Art Images
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Oxford Art Online
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Art & Architecture Complete
Full-text coverage of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books dating from the present to 1937. Includes a collection of over 63,000 images.
Google Cultural Institute Art Project
Google partnership with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. You can build your own image collections. Advanced search features include limiting by collection, place, medium, artist, and more.
An online fine art stock photo archive, with more than 500,000 searchable fine art images from a variety of sources. Metadata lists owning institution.
SPIRO (Slide and Photograph Image Retrieval Online)
SPIRO is the visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley. The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs.
Art History Resources on the Web
Mega collection of art history image sites maintained by Sweet Briar College.
Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection
Contains 13,000 textiles and related objects. These span a broad spectrum of times, places, and techniques from archeological material (primarily Peruvian and Coptic) through contemporary fiber art. Particular strengths are ethnographic textiles and costumes (especially South and Southeast Asian and Latin American material), as well as European and American home furnishing and apparel fabrics.
Associate Library Director
Subjects: African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095