PLoS mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Everything published that we publish is open-access - freely available online for anyone to use.
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine
Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, plus full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
The NAL database (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature. Earlham currently doesn't have access to this database but has some access to some of the journals in this database.
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.
The following PDF provides a quick review of the different databases you will use. There are also some basic statistics about doing different searches.
The following PDF provides a quick review of the different databases you will use. There are also some basic statistics about doing different searches.
