Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Books and Media
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Encyclopedia of Humor Studies by Salvatore I. Attardo
The Encyclopedia of Humor Studies explores the concept of humor in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. This work''s scope encompasses the humor of children, adults, and even nonhuman primates throughout the ages, from crude jokes and simple slapstick to sophisticated word play and ironic parody and satire. As an academic social history, it includes the perspectives of a wide range of disciplines, including sociology, child development, social psychology, life style history, communication, and entertainment media. Readers will develop an understanding of the importance of humor as it has developed globally throughout history and appreciate its effects on child and adult development, especially in the areas of health, creativity, social development, and imagination. This two-volume set is available in both print and electronic formats. Features & Benefits: The General Editor also serves as Editor-in-Chief of HUMOR: International Journal of Humor Research for The International Society for Humor Studies. The book''s 335 articles are organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes (approximately 1,000 pages). This work is enhanced by an introduction by the General Editor, a Foreword, a list of the articles and contributors, and a Reader''s Guide that groups related entries thematically. A Chronology of Humor, a Resource Guide, and a detailed Index are included. Each entry concludes with References/Further Readings and cross references to related entries. The Index, Reader''s Guide themes, and cross references between and among related entries combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version. This two-volume, A-to-Z set provides a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers in such diverse fields as communication and media studies, sociology and anthropology, social and cognitive psychology, history, literature and linguistics, and popular culture and folklore. Key Themes: Anthropology, Folklore, and Ethnicity Antiquity Components of Humor Culture Entertainment Industry History Literature and Major Literary Figures Performing Arts Philosophy and Religion Politics Psychology Clinical and Counseling Psychology Cognition Developmental Psychology General Psychology Health Psychology Interpersonal Relationships Motivation and Emotion Neuropsychology Personality and Social Psychology Tests and Measurement Professions Business World Education Law Humor Theory Linguistics Mathematics, Computer Science, and the Internet National, Ethnic, and Regional Humor Africa Americas Asia Europe Middle East Physiology and Biology Sociology Visual Humor
Publication Date: 2014
The Psychology of Humor by Jon E. Roeckelein
This work traces the origins and evolution of the concept of humor in psychology from ancient to modern times with an emphasis on an experimental/empirical approach to the understanding of humor and sense of humor. In addition to more than 3,000 important citations and references pertaining to the history, theories, and definitions of the concept of humor, this reference guide contains more than 380 recent (post-1970) annotated entries on the psychology of humor in its bibliographic section. The book describes various psychological, nonpsychological, and philosophical theories and definitions of humor, and focuses on the methodological concerns of psychologists regarding the scientific investigation of humor. The bibliography is organized under 10 categories, including Bibliographies and Literature Reviews of Humor, Cognition and Humor, Methodology and Measurement of Humor, and Social Aspects of Humor.
Publication Date: 2002
The Psychology of Humor by Rod A. Martin
Research on humor is carried out in a number of areas in psychology, including the cognitive (What makes something funny?), developmental (when do we develop a sense of humor?), and social (how is humor used in social interactions?) Although there is enough interest in the area to have spawned several societies, the literature is dispersed in a number of primary journals, with little in the way of integration of the material into a book. Dr. Martin is one of the best known researchers in the area, and his research goes across subdisciplines in psychology to be of wide appeal. This is a singly authored monograph that provides in one source, a summary of information researchers might wish to know about research into the psychology of humor. The material is scholarly, but the presentation of the material is suitable for people unfamiliar with the subject-making The Psychology of Humor suitable for use for advanced undergraduate and graduate level courses on the psychology of humor-which have not had a textbook source. 2007 AATH Book Award for Humor/Laughter Research category! Up-to-date coverage of research on humor and laughter in every area of psychology Research findings are integrated into a coherent conceptual framework Includes recent brain imaging studies, evolutionary models, and animal research Draws on contributions from sociology, linguistics, neuroscience, and anthropology Provides an overview of theories of humor and early research Explores applications of humor in psychotherapy, education, and the workplace Points out interesting topics for further research and promising research methodologies Written in a scholarly yet easily accessible style 2007 AATH Book Award for Humor/Laughter Research category
Publication Date: 2010
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Scholarly Literature (databases)
You can search all three of these databases at the same time!
Just look for "Choose Databases" at the top of the search page.
PsycINFO (remember to add APA PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the international literature of psychology, 1887 to present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health fields is particularly strong.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095