Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Earlham's Online Reference Sources
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2002
Online version of the 17-volume set from Gale (2004). In cooperation with the American Zoo and Aquarium Association.
"iBiology’s mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made"
"ARKive is creating the ultimate multimedia guide to the world's endangered animals, plants and fungi."
Encyclopedia of Life
"Imagine an electronic page for each species of organism on Earth..." - Edward O. Wilson
IUCN List of Threatened Species
"Taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction "
INFOMINE: Biological, Agricultural and Medical
Search engine for selected scholarly resources on the internet.
National Biological Information Infrastructure
"The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is a broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources. The NBII links diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools."
Tree of Life
"The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny)."
USDA Plants Database
"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
U.S. FIsh & Wildlife Service: Conserving the Nature of America
"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. "
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides an integrated approach to the use of gene and protein sequence information." Includes BLAST, Gene, Genome, OMIM, and other resources.
Bioinformatics: A Brief Review of Resources on the Web
Links to websites that are the working tools of biologists involved in bioinformatics.
Computational Molecular Biology at NIH
National Institutes of Health links to tools used for sequence analysis, structure analysis, and other aspects of computational molecular biology.
Interactive 3-D models of proteins and other molecules
MG-RAST (the Metagenomics RAST) server is an automated analysis platform for metagenomes providing quantitative insights into microbial populations based on sequence data.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095