Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture by
Publication Date: 2002
This is a reference guide covering a single form, genre, or theme of popular culture from architecture to film, from computers to jazz. It is copiously illustrated throughout with many photo-essays on such topics as roller coasters, teenage fashion, movie theaters, and Western films.
By Time Period
American Decades by
Publication Date: 2000
Online or in print. 11 volumes, with each covering a decade from 1900-2010.
American Decades : Primary Documents by
Publication Date: 2003
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
American Pop by
Publication Date: 2008
Covers 1900-2010's by decade. Includes data on Cost of Products from 1900–2000.
Pop Culture Universe
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts.
War and American Popular Culture by
Publication Date: 1999
Spanning more than 400 years of America's past, this book brings together, for the first time, entries on the ways Americans have mythologized both the many wars the nation has fought and the men and women connected with those conflicts. Provides information on fiction, drama, poems, songs, film and television, art, memorials, photographs, documentaries, and cartoons from the colonial wars before 1775 up to 1999.
African Americans and Popular Culture by
Publication Date: 2008
Comprehensive overview of the African American influence and presence in film, television, radio, music, other popular art forms, and sports.
Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture by
Publication Date: 2009
This unique encyclopedia chronicles American Jewish popular culture, past and present in music, art, food, religion, literature, and more. Over 150 entries, written by scholars in the field, highlight topics ranging from animation and comics to Hollywood and pop psychology.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures by
Publication Date: 2004
Chapters present exhaustively researched, detailed narratives of the given subjects, from indigenous culture through the present day.
The Great Plains
The Pacific region
The Rocky Mountain region
Associate Library Director
Subjects:African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095