Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Books & Media
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China by Daniel Leese
Brill's Encyclopedia of China (see also www.brill.nl/encyclopediachina ) is a convenient reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines.
Publication Date: 2008
China Today by Jing Luo
Containing over 200 entries written by scholars working in various disciplines both in the United States and in China, this two-volume resource provides current, accurate, and useful information on the politics, economics, society, and culture of both the People's Republic and Taiwan since 1949. Illustrated and offering both a detailed subject index and extensive cross-referencing, this easy-to-use encyclopedia contains essays on important Chinese leaders and events since 1949, as well as on recent and contemporary political and cultural policies; relations with foreign states; internal poltical, economic, and commercial structures; literature; religion; the role of women; and many other important and timely topics.
Publication Date: 2005
Additional Media Sources
PressReader Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
PressReader provides full-color, full-text access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from 120 countries and in more than 60 different languages. 1 year of extended back issues. Click on the title above, or download the app using this URL: https://about.pressreader.com/download-app/
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095