Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Primary Documents
Select subject headings
- Great Britain -- History -- Tudors, 1485-1603 -- Sources.
- Great Britain -- History -- Early Stuarts, 1603-1649 -- Sources.
- Great Britain -- History -- Commonwealth and Protectorate, 1649-1660 -- Sources.
Other useful keywords: Papers, correspondence, biography, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost 100,000 books published between 1475-1700.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 70 magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s.
Online Primary Documents
British History Online
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research
UK National Archives
Britain offers a wide range of digitized documents from the Domesday Book (ca 1085 AD) to current day. A variety of materials is available through the Exhibitions link.
The Elizabeth Files - Primary Sources
This blog and website is run by freelance writer Claire Ridgway, a Tudor history fan who links to numerous primary documents.
European History Primary Sources
Attempts to bring together all digitized primary sources pertaining to European history. A joint venture between organizations participating in the European University Institute.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
An extensive primary source database that focuses on key historical happenings in Western Europe from medieval times to the present. Searchable by country.
British Library Online Gallery
30,000+ digital documents from the British Library, including many maps, and a large collection on Henry VIII
British Printed Images to 1700
A database of thousands of prints and book illustrations from early modern Britain in fully-searchable form. Funded by the UK Arts and Humanities Research Council.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095