Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Creating a Website with Google Sites
How to find images
A database of 11,172,244 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Be sure to check and follow the Creative Commons license associated with each image.
Google Images: Advanced Search
From this search page, you may limit your result to images available for re-use.
According to their mission statement, "Creative Commons develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation."
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H Katz & William Woys Weaver
Publication Date: 2002
Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. The "Encyclopedia's multidisciplinary articles--including "Comfort Food," "Ethnicity and Food," "Medieval Banquets" and "Nutrient Composition"--are supplemented by 450 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple & Kriemhild Conee Ornelas
Publication Date: 1999
An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
The Oxford Companion to Food by Alan Davidson
Publication Date: 1999
The 2,650 alphabetical entries in this compendium represent 20 years of Davidson's work. They include information on specific foods, cooking terms, culinary tools, countries, traditions, and biographies of chefs and cookbook authors. The entries for countries cover foods, habits, and holidays with special foods. The entries about traditions cover religious laws that deal with food and/or fasting, such as Ramadan and kosher laws. There are 39 longer articles about staple foods such as rice and apples. A comprehensive bibliography provides access to further information.
Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology by Yiu H. Hui
Publication Date: 1991
Based on the work of leading professionals in the field of nutrition research, it explores all aspects of the basic science and mechanics of food processing, food additives and more. Covering everything from acidulants to yogurt, it is intended for reference use in all libraries and the food industry in general. It is an invaluable resource that will prove indispensable for all food science needs.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095