Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Current, online version of the famous dictionary.
The Definitive Shakespeare Companion: Overviews, Documents, and Analysis [4 Volumes] by
Publication Date: 2017
"Provides coverage of each key play and poems, with each section presenting summaries; discussions of themes, characters, language, and imagery; and clear explications of key passages. Readers will be able to inspect historical documents related to the topics explored in the work being discussed and view excerpts from Shakespeare's sources as well as reviews of major productions. The work also provides a comprehensive list of print and electronic resources suitable for student research."
Books and Media
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Are you at the outset of a major research project? Search scholarly books and articles through Google Scholar!
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's index to international journal and books on literature, linguistics, languages, folklore, and film studies, 1926 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1200 scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 70 magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. The material herein can usually be considered "primary documents."
Subjects: ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, Jewish Studies
, Media and Communications
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095