Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Publication Date: 2004
Online version of the fifteen volume, 2nd edition (Macmillan, 2005). An outstanding scholarly work on almost any religious topic. We also have both the 1st and 2nd editions in print in our reference section.
The Oxford Companion to the Garden by
Publication Date: 2006
Devoted to gardens of every kind and the people involved in their making,The Oxford Companion to the Garden provides comprehensive coverage in 1,750 alphabetical entries detailing all aspects of the garden.
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology by
Publication Date: 2005
Many of the better-known and more significant myths are vividly retold in this volume that will be illustrated with maps, more than 70 black and white images, and eight pages of color highlighting the central role art has often played in the transmission and perpetuation of myth. Following the entries, a rich section of appendices will include family trees of the major pantheons, equivalency charts for the gods of Greeceand Rome, Babylon and Sumer, as well as other traditions, an extensive bibliography, and an index.
Main Collection Books
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Through the Labyrinth by
Publication Date: 2000
"360 pages with 732 black-and-white and 17 color illustrations." "Labyrinths and mazes are encountered the world over, and have been a source of fascination through the ages. In this lavishly illustrated and carefully documented classic, Hermann Kern examines labyrinths in light of their historical, cultural, religious, and symbolic significance."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Walking a Sacred Path by
Publication Date: 1996
The author explores the history and significance of the image of the labyrinth and explains how readers can use the ancient imprint in the art of meditation, leading them to new sources of wisdom, change, and renewal.
Mazes and Labyrinths by
Publication Date: 2011
With devoted scholarship and an appreciation for what he terms "the lure of the labyrinth," Matthews explores accounts of ancient mazes, the "meanders" of Greek and Roman times, theories on the meaning of church labyrinths, the hedge maze, and more. All important or exceptional examples are illustrated with 151 line drawings.
Labyrinths & Mazes Resource Centre, Photo Library & Archive
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095