Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Latin American Information Network Center (LANIC)
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC has received funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Ford Foundation, and UT Austin's College of Liberal Arts. LANIC is a key component of the International Information Systems, also based at UT Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
- Digital Librarian's (LAS Links)
Maintained by Margaret Vail Anderson, a librarian in Cortland, New York, who has copious references to digital resources for librarians and researchers
- Latin American Archives (Catalogs)
- LOC Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- Political Database of the Americas
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region.
- CyArk Project World Heritage Sites
Way Cool! CyArk is a 501c3 non profit organization with the mission of: digitally preserving cultural heritage sites through collecting, archiving and providing open access to data created by laser scanning, digital modeling, and other state-of-the-art technologies.
Digitize Document Collections
Asamblea de Artistas Revolucionarios de Oaxaca Pictorial Collection
This collection of prints, posters, and mural stencils was created by a collective of young Mexican artists that formed during the state of Oaxaca's 2006 teachers strike. Themes include land rights, political prisoners, government corruption, political violence, police brutality, violence against women, art exhibitions, nationalization of agriculture and oil.
- Center for Research Libraries
We collect unique and little-known humanities, science, and social science documents. We preserve records of the past and the present for researchers of the future.
We connect researchers, libraries, and institutions to vital source materials.
- Jane Norling and Lenora (Nori) Davis Latin American Posters Collection
Posters in this collection were collected from Cuba, Nicaragua, and Mexico by Jane Norling and Lenora Davis. The posters were produced by various agencies and address subjects such as film, solidarity with the struggles of Third World countries, labor, tourism, disease prevention, women, energy conservation, the Vietnam War, and the Cuban Revolution.
- José Guadalupe Posada Collection of Mexican Popular Prints
This collection, compiled by noted Mexican art historian Fernando Gamboa, consists of lithographs, etchings, and engravings by José Guadalupe Posada. Posada, known as "the artist of the Mexican people," worked as an illustrator and commercial artist. His work has influenced many Latin American artists and cartoonists because of its satirical acuteness and political engagement.
- Latin American Pamphlet Collection (Harvard)
Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. One of the few institutions to have consistently collected Latin American pamphlets, Harvard has benefited from collections formed by Luis Montt (Chile), Nicolás Acosta (Bolivia), Manuel Segundo Sánchez (Venezuela), José Augusto Escoto (Cuba), Blas Garay (Paraguay), Charles Sumner, John B. Stetson and others. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are
- National Security Archive
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. Updated frequently, the Electronic Briefing Books represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections.
- Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Political Posters
The Slick Collection, unparalleled in scope internationally, includes works of varying scale printed by serigraphy or offset lithography techniques by such widely known artists as Félix Beltrán, Raúl Martínez, Renú Mederos Pazos, Alfredo Rostgaard, and Eduardo Muñoz Bachs of Cuba; Jesús Ruiz Durand of Peru; and Josú Rosa Castellanos, Antonio Martorell, Rafael Tufiño, and Lorenzo Homar of Puerto Rico. All Latin American countries, as well as Spain and the United States, are represented
- Taller de Gráfica Popular
The Taller de Grafica Popular Pictorial Collection consists of posters, fliers, prints, serials, calendars and notecards that focus on international issues of the 1940s-1960s, including fascism and national socialism, in addition to Mexican topics such as agriculture, labor issues and the nationalization of the petroleum industry.
Data Sets & Statistics
Gapminder is a non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals by increased use and understanding of statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.
- Latin American Databank (Roper)
The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly twelve hundred studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
- Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
IPUMS-International is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. Its goals are to:Collect and preserve data and documentation, Harmonize data, disseminate the data absolutely free!
- World Bank (data)
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics
Guide credit for many websites and their descriptions to Suzanne Schadl from her Latin & Latin American Studies Guide. http://libguides.unm.edu/lais
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095