Earlham Libraries Home: BIO 226: Biodiversity (Main): Biodiversity Resources

Article Databases

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

BioOne

Scholarly scientific journal articles, particularly in the areas of vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment.

Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
JSTOR

Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.

Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Annual Reviews

Yearly summaries of current research in the field for natural and social sciences.

Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.
Academic Search Elite

Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.

Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.

eBook & Other

Ebook Central

eBooks in almost every subject area. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog.

Contains over 140,000 ebooks that you can read online or download. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog, but going direct through this link will let you search the full-text of all the books and browse every title. (Formerly ebrary.)
Ebook Academic Collection

eBooks covering a wide range of academic subjects. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog.

A multidisciplinary collection that includes more than 205,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. All e-books are available with unlimited user access, and new titles are added regularly to the collection.

Web Resources

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life
Catalogue of Life
The Catalogue of Life is a comprehensive and authoritative global index of species with essential information on the names, relationships and distributions of over 1.5 million species.
IUCN List of Threatened Species
"Taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction "
Encyclopedia of Life
"Imagine an electronic page for each species of organism on Earth..." - Edward O. Wilson
Tree of Life
"The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny)."
Natureserve
USDA Plants Database
"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
U.S. FIsh & Wildlife Service: Conserving the Nature of America
"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. "

Birds of the World

Comprehensive information on nearly 11,000 species of birds.

Birds of the World contains 10,721 species accounts from every bird species in the world and is an entirely new scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from four different ornithological volumes: Birds of North America (BNA), Neotropical Birds, Handbook of Birds of the World (HBW Alive), and Bird Families of the World.

iNaturalist
iNaturalist is a social network for naturalists, citizen scientists, and biologists. It's a database that records biodiversity around the world.
Global Biodiversity Inventory
the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation
The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation is an international nonprofit organization that protects the natural world through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitats. As a science-based organization, we both conduct our own research and rely upon the most up-to-date information to guide our conservation work. Our key program areas are: pollinator conservation, endangered species conservation, and reducing pesticide use and impacts.