Earlham Libraries Home: All Creative Writing: Finding Literature

Browsing the Stacks for Literature

Our Library is organized by the Library of Congress system. All of the books on the same subject are together on the shelf.

Here are some call number areas for literature that you might want to browse:

Class P — Language and Literature

PE English Language

PE 1400 Teaching Writing

PN Literature (General)

PN 101-245 Authorship

PN 6727 and 6728 Comics, Graphic Novels

PR English Literature

PR 6100 Recent English Literature (2001-present)

PS American Literature

PS 3600 Recent American Literature (2001-present)

PZ Juvenile Fiction

Adapted from Creative Writing Resources by IU Southeast Library

The Crucible

Don't forget to check out The Crucible, Earlham's literary and visual arts magazine!

Literary Journals and Magazines

The New Yorker
Available through Academic Search Complete. Print copies also available in the library.
Ploughshares
Available through JSTOR.
Poetry
Available through Literary Reference Center Plus. Print copies also available at the library.
American Poetry Review
Available through Academic Search Complete. Print copies also available at the library.
The Kenyon Review
Available through Project Muse.
Virgina Quarterly Review
Available through Academic Search Complete.
The Iowa Review
Available through Humanities Full Text (H. W. Wilson)
Narrative
Available through Academic Search Complete.
AGNI
Available through Literary Reference Center Plus.
Antioch Review
Available through Academic Search Complete.
The Yale Review
Available through Project Muse.
Missouri Review
Available through Project Muse.
Callaloo
Access available through Project Muse.
New England Review
Available through Literary Reference Center Plus.

Want to know if Earlham subscribes to a certain literary journal or magazine? Go to our Journal Title Advanced Search tool, click on "Journals," and type in your journal title (tip: leave off articles like "the" or "a" from the beginning of the title when searching with this tool. For example, type "kenyon review" instead of "the kenyon review").

Databases

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Black Authors, 1556-1922 This link opens in a new window
Works by black writers in a variety of genres, including personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems, and musical compositions.
Includes more than 550 fully catalogued and searchable works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. It contains wide-ranging genres, including personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new window
Short fiction and folklore produced by black writers from the earliest times to the present.
82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.

The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. Includes audio recordings of poems.
Poets.org
Created by the Academy of American Poets, Poets.org contains thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings—with new material being added constantly. Also available are resources such as the National Poetry Map, a national events calendar, and poetry lesson plans for teachers.