Skip to main content
Library Purchased Reference Sources
Oxford Music Online
Contains the full text of he New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition, 2002), and more.
Oxford Reference - Performing Arts
Oxford Reference – Performing Arts
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press performing art dictionaries and encyclopedias, including companions for music, theater, opera, and dance.
Credo Reference- Music
Many online encyclopedias including the Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Reference Collection
Hundreds of online encyclopedias, including over 50 titles on music and popular culture, all formerly part of the Pop Culture Universe Database. Content on popular music, dance, musical theater primarily in the US 20th century. Browse music titles by clicking "Popular Culture" and then "Music & Performing Arts." Example titles includes The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History; Jazz: A Regional Exploration; and Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Reference Bank
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Classical Music Reference Library
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database.
Public Score Resources
If we don't have the score you want in the library collection in print, or it's not available from Alexander Street Press Music Reference, try these online free sources.
IMSLP - International Music Score Library Project
Started in 2006, the ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
Sheet Music Consortium
Search across multiple digitized sheet music collections including materials from Indiana University, Duke, Johns Hopkins, UCLA, Library of Congress, and others.
Select reference books
Publication Date: 2009
From ProQuest Ebook Central
Print Reference Books
The Oxford Illustrated History of Opera
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (ML1700 .O95 1994 )
Publication Date: 1995-01-19
Beautifully illustrated, oversized volume--boasting over 250 pictures, 30 in full color--eleven leading authorities chronicle the full sweep of this stunning musical genre, ranging from the earliest known works to such recent experimental efforts as Robert Wilson and Philip Glass's Einstein on the Beach. The contributors illuminate how opera often reflects the cultural concerns of the age, how it is part of the social fabric, and in three fascinating sections on staging, singers, and the social climate, they give us a look behind the scenes as well as a feel for what opera was like in the past.
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (ML128.O4 M28 2001 )
Publication Date: 2000-12-22
Guide to the research writings on all aspects of opera. This second edition presents 2,833 titles--over 2,000 more than the first edition--of books, parts of books, articles and dissertations with full bibliographic descriptions and critical annotations. Users will find the core literature on the operas of 320 individual composers and details of operatic life in 43 countries.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095