Skip to main content
Historic newspaper search hints
Because language changes, be sure to use search terms used at the time the materials were created, even if those terms are now obsolete. For example, the following historic terms will produce more results than their modern-day counterparts:
|Modern Usage vs. Historic Usage comparison table
|gas, service station
||Afro American, Negro
From:Chronicling of America-(The Library of Congress) - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/help/
Finding Known Articles
Steps for finding items listed in bibliographies
- Locate a bibliographic citation. Look at the list of sources in subject encyclopedias and bibliographies.
- Determine if the source is a book or an article in a journal. Some clues
Does it have volume and/or issue numbers? Does the date include a month? Then it's most likely from a journal.
Is a publisher and/or place of publication included in the citation? Then it is probably from a book.
- Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
- What if we don't own it? Request it from another through interlibrary loan. Log into Illiad to create the request or use the Interlibrary Loan links in WorldCat and article databases. Interlibrary Loan is free for students!
America: History and Life
The most comprehensive resource for finding articles on US and Canadian history. Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,700 journals in over 40 languages back to 1964.
In the limits you can narrow your search results to articles covering specific ranges of years.
Can also limit by language.
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
Historical Popular Magazines
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
Historic Newspaper Archives
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, weekly news publications and more.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
Includes hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, most dating back to the mid 1980's.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
access limited to Earlham students and employees
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and Magazine
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Richmond Palladium-Item archive (via US Midwest Newsstream)
Coverage dates: November 7, 1999 - present.
Scroll down the linked page to access a search box for the Richmond Palladium-Item archive or to browse a particular issue date.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, 2018 Fall Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095