Skip to main content
History - United States
Online version of the 10-volume reference set from Gale (2001). Provides sociocultural contexts of a given decade, 1900-1990s.
American National Biography
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Reference Bank
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Daily Life Online
Online version of over four dozen print volumes that explore different cultures and everyday life around the world, past and present, including the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.
Dictionary of American History
Online version of the 10-volume, 3rd edition set from Charles Scribner's (2003).
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Online version of the Gale/Grey House multivolume set.
Print Reference-General US History
Encyclopedia of American History /
Call Number: Reference: E174 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of American Social History /
Call Number: Reference: HN57 .E58 1993
American Countercultures: An Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles, and Radical Ideas in U.S. History /
Call Number: Reference: HM647 .A44 2009
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 )
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index. 3 Volumes.
American Women’s History /
Call Number: Reference: HQ1410 .A44 1994
Encyclopedia of Women in American History /
Call Number: Reference: HQ1410 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia /
Call Number: Reference: E185.86 .B542 2005
By Time Period
American Decades *
Publication Date: 2000
Online or in print. 11 volumes, with each covering a decade from 1900-2010.
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This new two-volume set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture. While its main focus is on the Great Depression within the United States, the global impact of the economic slow-down is also examined through articles on Canada, Mexico, Australia, Europe, Africa and Asia.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095