Skip to main content
Reference sources are great places to browse for topics, and to learn more about a topic you have in mind but don't know much about. Think of them as alternatives to Wikipedia - they are totally acceptable sources to cite in your papers/posters!
Pop Culture Universe
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Reference Bank
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Publication Date: 2000
Online version of the five volume, 2nd edition (2000) of Macmillan's standard encyclopedia. It provides a scholarly introduction to the field.
The Encyclopedia of Sociology is in the Ready Reference Section, or use the linked title to access the full text online.
Blackwell Reference Online (now Wiley Online Library)
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Publication Date: 2003
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
Two Review Sources
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines.
Academic Technologies & Seminaries Librarian
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095