Skip to main content
Reference Books and eBooks
Once you have an indigenous group in mind, these reference books are a great place to start, and the entries often have a small set of scholarly references that you can look into further. Encyclopedia entries are reliable sources of information but generally are NOT considered to be scholarly sources.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference GN388 .C35 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The Encyclopedia is divided into three parts. The first contains case studies, by leading experts, of over fifty hunting and gathering peoples, in seven major world regions. There is a general introduction and an archaeological overview for each region. Part II contains thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. The final part surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers' encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology (full text online)
Publication Date: 1993-12-08
Part One emphasizes human beings as members of a species, how that species differs from others, how it has evolved, and how human populations have adapted to and in turn transformed their environments. Part Two deals with the origin and structure of human culture, and on the role of culture in action, perception, and cognition. Part Three examines the various aspects of the relationships and processes that are carried on by persons and groups in the course of social life.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Publication Date: 2005
Over 1200 entries that focus on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy and theology. The contributions are authored by over 300 internationally renowned experts, professors and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities and institutes in the world.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E53
Publication Date: 1991
v. 1: North America; v. 2: Oceania; v. 3: South Asia; v. 4: Europe; v. 5: East & Southeast Asia; v. 6: Russia and Eurasia; v. 7: South America. These volumes provide clear, concise descriptions of the cultures of the world, covering history, economy
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
Call Number: Ref GF 10.E63
Publication Date: 2003
Three volume set. The list of entries/topics appears at the beginning of each volume.
Call Number: Ref GE 42.P 35
Publication Date: 1998
Includes short essays on 19 major issues in environmental ethics. Also includes sections on US environmental law and Codes of practice in environmental ethics.
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind (21 volumes)
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .I44 1984.
Publication Date: 1984
Provides ethnographic and historical information for over 500 peoples and culture groups existing in the twentieth century. Volumes 16 to 21 cover a wide range of general topics, such as trade, music, and crafts.
The last volume has an index, population charts, a geographic guide, and a bibliography.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Call Number: Ref GE 170.I55
Publication Date: 2001
Written by a team of international experts, the Encyclopedia is vital for fact-checking, provides authoritative initial orientation to a particular topic or issue and will serve as a solid starting point for wider explanation. With over 300 fully cross-referenced entries, many of which are followed with suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia includes: * Country and regional entries * Normative and ethical dimensions of environmental politics * Environmental movements, organizations, struggles and actors * Issues in international environmental politics * Prominent individuals (historical and current) * Central topics and issues in environmental politics
The Atlas of Global Change
Call Number: Ref GE149.G4813
Publication Date: 1998
Beautiful images related to global and climate change.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (4 volumes)
Call Number: Ref GN 333 .W67
Publication Date: 1997
v. 1: Africa; v. 2: Americas; v. 3: Asia and Oceania; v. 4: Europe. These four volumes have separate sections for each country and/or ethnic group (i.e., tribe).
Reference Sources Online
Area Handbooks Series
This series provides a survey of history, culture, politics, and government of individual countries. 101 countries have Handbooks, they were all published between 1988 and 1998, so may be outdated. Volumes usually contain information on native peoples. To find the appropriate volume you need to know in which country the tribe is located in.
Daily Life Online
Descriptions of all aspects of culture --religion, home, food, festivals, etc.-- in regions of the world.
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Environmental Sustainabilty
, Global Management
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095