Skip to main content
American National Biography
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Reference Bank
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Literature Resource Center
This database can be searched with the results limited to just biographies or by doing a "Person Search" (see the tab at the top). Focuses on authors and other leaders in literary fields.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Encyclopedia of India
Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of India cover the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Publication Date: 2003
A look at Islam's role in the modern world, in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2004
The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
eBooks of Biographies
In addition to the ones listed here, there are many more biographical collections in books. Once you have your subject in mind, try searching the catalog for "dictionary" or "encyclopedia" AND whatever category words might include your person. For instance Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia, or Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers. Many but not all of these include further sources at the end of each biographical entry.
Books of Biographies
Notable Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference CT329 .M46 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Peace Heroes in 20th-Century America
Call Number: Lilly Library Main JX1952 .P336
Publication Date: 1986
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference HQ1115 .R69 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Environmental Sustainabilty
, Global Management
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095