Skip to main content
Published Primary Documents
Primary documents are often published as monographs. Adding the term "sources" to your search is useful when using the catalog to help find these collections.
Historical Archives of Magazines & Newspapers
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
The Times (London) Digital Archives
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
English-language newspapers and periodicals produced in China. Includes the North China Herald (1850-1941), the Chinese Repository (1832-1851), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1941), the China Weekly Review (1923-1950), and more. Ads, social notices etc. are all separately indexed and searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903-1995)
The first English language newspaper published in Hong Kong. Provides cover-to-cover full text articles from 1903 to 1995, including editorials, advertisements, cartoons, and classified advertisements, is searchable.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Contains 7,247 books, 80 serials, more than fifteen manuscript collections, & court records from the from the late 15th through the to the present. Material published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Database of digitized primary source collections covering American Women's history. Historical periods range from 17th to 21st centuries. Browse by subjects, states, time periods, primary source type or search by keyword.
Documenting the American South
Primary source material "documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It offers diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles on slavery and regional literature."
Early Americas Digital Archive
Documents from 1492 until the 1800s written in or about America.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
An extensive primary source database that focuses on key historical happenings in Western Europe from medieval times to the present. Searchable by country.
European History Primary Sources
Attempts to bring together all digitized primary sources pertaining to European history. A joint venture between organizations participating in the European University Institute.
Founders Early Access
Thousands of unpublished documents from our nation's founders. Includes the papers of Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, the Adams family, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and Alexander Hamilton.
Histopop - The Online Historical Population Reports Website
Historical study of British population before WW II. Includes census data and maps.
Making of America
Contains some 360,000 pages of original printed text from several thousand volumes of primary sources related to the development of US infrastructure during the antebellum period and reconstruction.
OAIster harvests from Open Archives Initiative (OAI)-compliant digital libraries, institutional repositories, and online journals using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH) protocol.
Online Primary Document Collections
Categorized guide to collections compiled by librarians at Cal State San Marcos Library.
Plowshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Primary documents covering the social justice efforts of Earlham College, Goshen College, and Manchester College, as well as their affiliated historic peace churches (Quakers, Mennonites, and the Church of the Brethren) from the 1700s to the present. Includes diaries, minutes, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals.
Primary Sources Documents on the Holocaust
Includes documents related to the Holocaust such as the Wannsee protocol, eyewitness accounts, speeches, and much more.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
Archive of Presidential recordings, speeches, documents and oral histories. Includes over 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings. Searchable by keyword.
UK National Archives
Britain offers a wide range of digitized documents from the Domesday Book (ca 1085 AD) to current day. A variety of materials is available through the Exhibitions link.
US National Archives
Provides access to over 1,200 digitized documents from the records of the US government. Searchable by keywords and tags.
Women's Studies in Digital Archives
Identifies women's studies content available in broad digital collections of primary sources.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, 2018 Fall Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095