Earlham Libraries Home: BIO 112: Cells, Genes, and Inheritance (GMO) Genetically Modified Organisms: Find Articles

General Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2020.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

PLoS Collections
PLoS mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Everything published that we publish is open-access - freely available online for anyone to use.
A-Z List of Databases
An A-Z list of all the Earlham Libraries databases.

Finding the actual article

Once you have a citation - STEPS to take:

1. Follow the HTML or PDF link to the article full text in the database - then read, download, or print OR

2. Use Google Scholar

3. Request a copy from the primary author (see textbox to the right)

4. If the journal is not available in print or online use ILL (Inter Library Loan)

Biology, Environmental and Chemistry Databases that might be relevant to the project

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.
Google Scholar SEARCH TIPS
PubMED
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine

BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts periodicals dealing with environmental topics, with limited full text. Coverage varies widely by individual periodical title.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles published in American Chemical Society Journals, 1879 to present.

More Search tools

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.
National Agricultural Library (PubAg)
PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 41,961 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 1,075,178 citations
AGRIS (Food and Agriculture Organization - FAO)
Looking for Agricultural Science and Technology Information? Papers, data, statistics, and multimedia material, you get it with AGRIS all on one page

Text to email author

Dear Dr. <Last name>

I was doing some research and found your paper in "<Journal Title you find it in>" titled "<Title of paper>" very interesting. Unfortunately, my institution does not have access to a Fulltext (PDF) of your article, hence I was wondering if you could share with me a e-copy. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Warm regards,

<Your name>
Earlham College

Find an article using Google Scholar

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.

scholar.google.com

---------------------------------------------------

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.

BIO 112: Cells, Genes, and Inheritance (GMO) Genetically Modified Organisms: Find Articles