Skip to main content
United States (Congress)
Congress.gov: Legislative Information on the Internet (replaces THOMAS)
The official site for Congress and Senate information. Contains links to the full text of legislation, full text of the Congressional Record, Congressional Record Index, Bill Summary & Status, Hot Legislation, the US Constitution, and more.
"The most comprehensive resource for federal campaign contributions, lobbying data and analysis available anywhere."
Blog written by Nate Silver and Sean Quinn. Formerly part of the New York Times website. "What is the mission of this website? Most broadly, to accumulate and analyze polling and political data in way that is informed, accurate and attractive. Most narrowly, to give you the best possible objective assessment of the likely outcome of upcoming elections."
Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2006, with in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area and comprehensive roll call votes for all major legislation.
Biographical Dictionary of the US congress
Biographies, portraits, and bibliographies for all House and Senate members from 1774 - present. Many entries link to research collections elsewhere.
United States House of Representatives
"Provides public access to legislative information as well as information about Members, Committees, and Organizations of the House and to other U.S. government information resources."
United States Senate
Offers information about the "members of the Senate, Senate Committees, and Senate leadership and support offices" as well as "general background information about U.S. Senate legislative procedures, Senate facilities in the Capitol Building, and the history of the Senate."
Full text of legislative histories, house and senate reports and documents, the Congressional Record, and more.
Since its inception, Roll Call, the newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955, has written about and for the US Congress. Instead of tracking issues and legislation, the newspaper and site cover "the three Ps: people, politics, and process."
Current Congressional Info (in print)
The Almanac of American Politics 2014
Call Number: Lilly Library REF JK 1012. A44 2014
Publication Date: 2013
The 2014 almanac includes new and updated profiles of every member of Congress and every state governor. These profiles cover everything from expenditures to voting records, interest-group ratings, and, of course, politics. In-depth overviews of each state and house district are included as well, along with demographic data, analysis of voting trends, and political histories.
These books are all shelved in the Reference area of Lilly Library. Ask a Reference Librarian if you need help finding them.
Politics in America 2014
Call Number: Lilly Library REF JK 1010. P64 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The profiles of the members plus the delegates offer concise and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations of members at home and on Capitol Hill. Detailed state and district information plus a wealth of information and data on campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees, and other member facts round out the book. Profiles include: Biographical data, committee assignments, CQ Vote Studies, interest group ratings, and contact information State-by-state and congressional voting demographics Campaign finance statistics and election results Leadership, caucuses, and member statistics
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Environmental Sustainabilty
, Global Management
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095