Skip to main content
Call Number: Lilly Library Ready Reference (D13 .H5 )
Publication Date: 1987-06-01
Compiled from ABC-Clio's history databases which cover some 2,000 major scholarly journals published in over 40 languages. From this source abstracts of articles published from 1970 to 1985 were selected, along with book and dissertation citations. The books were selected for their importance to historians in all fields, and were reviewed in at least one journal. Volume 1 covers bibliographies, conferences, books, dissertations, and individual historians. Volume II has a geographic classification and covers virtually every region of the world.
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Call Number: Lilly Library Ready Reference (D20 .A5 1995 )
Publication Date: 1995-03-30
This entirely new edition of a keystone reference is the place to start researching any topic in any field of history. Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--to provide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century. Presented in an accessible format, this completely new work has been ten years in planning and execution. It is divided into sections arranged by chronology and national and regional history, with each section introduced by a brief historiographical essay. And it also contains expanded coverage of Africa, Asia, and North and South America. Each bibliographic citation is identified by a unique reference number and includes all essential data, along with a brief critical annotation written by a specialist in the field. Also included are guides to the contributors of annotations and complete author and subject indexes. An indispensable work for scholars, students, librarians, and general readers, the AHA Guide to Historical Literature is essential for anyone who is serious about history. -
Reader's Guide to American History
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (E178 .R43 1997 )
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
There are so many books on so many aspects of the history of the United States, offering such a wide variety of interpretations, that students, teachers, scholars, and librarians often need help and advice on how to find what they want. The Reader's Guide to American History is designed to meet that need by adopting a new and constructive approach to the appreciation of this rich historiography. Each of the 600 entries on topics in political, social and economic history describes and evaluates some 6 to 12 books on the topic, providing guidance to the reader on everything from broad surveys and interpretive works to specialized monographs. The entries are devoted to events and individuals, as well as broader themes, and are written by a team of well over 200 contributors, all scholars of American history.
United States History
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (E178 .M47 1995 )
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
This bibliography provides coverage of the most recent books and articles on the history of the United States. It is arranged in 7 chronological divisions, beginning with Native Americans before European contact and ending in the post-Cold War era.
Covers new writings from the 1980s and early 1990s on all periods of American history.
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing
Call Number: Lilly Library Ready Reference (D13 .G47 1998 )
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
This unique Encyclopedia surveys all forms of historical writing throughout the world, from earliest times to the present, covering historical traditions of nations and analyzing theoretical topics from chronicles to feminist interpretations, modern schools from progressives to the Annales, as well as examining the latest developments in cultural history, cliometrics, postmodernism, and other contemporary topics. Spotlights neglected writers from many cultures The Encyclopedia discusses individual historians from antiquity to the present day, from the greatest names in western historical writing past and present to many historians previously excluded from general accounts, such as women and writers from non-western cultures. Bibliographies cite references on and by the writer examined; Extensively cross-referenced by subject and fully indexed Index. Bibliography.
American History Now
Publication Date: 2011-06-11
"American History Now" collects eighteen original historiographic essays that survey recent scholarship in American history and trace the shifting lines of interpretation and debate in the field. Building on the legacy of two previous editions of "The New American History," this volume presents an entirely new group of contributors and a reconceptualized table of contents. The new generation of historians showcased in "American History Now" have asked new questions and developed new approaches to scholarship to revise the prevailing interpretations of the chronological periods from the Colonial era to the Reagan years. Covering the established subfields of women's history, African American history, and immigration history, the book also considers the history of capitalism, Native American history, environmental history, religious history, cultural history, and the history of the United States in the world. "American History Now" provides an indispensible summation of the state of the field for those interested in the study and teaching of the American past. - Two sections - Eras and Themes
Since 1970 : Histories of Contemporary America : Doing Recent History : On Privacy, Copyright, Video Games, Institutional Review Boards, Activist Scholarship, and History That Talks Back
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
The twelve essays in this collection explore the challenges of writing histories of recent events where visibility is inherently imperfect, hindsight and perspective are lacking, and historiography is underdeveloped. Those who write about events that have taken place since 1970 encounter exciting challenges that are both familiar and foreign to scholars of a more distant past, including suspicions that their research is not historical enough, negotiation with living witnesses who have a very strong stake in their own representation, and the task of working with new electronic sources. Contributors to this collection consider a wide range of these challenges.
Blackwell Companion Handbooks
Blackwell publishes a very useful series of "handbooks" or "companion" books in many disciplines, including history. History companions are available for a range of topics, and many volumes include historiography essays. You can search the entire Blackwell collection, by subjects, or within individual titles.
Blackwell Reference Online
Contains the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Blackwell Publishing, including the Blackwell Companions.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095