Skip to main content
Book Review Sources
Finding Book Reviews - Online Databases
Searching these databases by author, title, and with limiter for review articles, will find often find book reviews.
Academic Search Premier
Under limiters, Document Type, select "Book Review".
America: History and Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from pre-history to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals dating back as far as 1910. Allows for searching by historical time period, a major advantage given the extensive range of its coverage.
American National Biography
Reference CT213.A68 24 volumes and Online
Annotated bibliography of reviews often included at the end of essays in the bibliography section.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Includes the NY Times Book Review. To limit to review articles, choose to search by the Document Type "review".
You can limit your search to articles with the type "review". Choose multiple disciplines to maximize search results.
Finding Books Reviews - Print Sources
- Find the original publication date of your book.
- In the review indices listed below, search for book review citations in the volumes that match the publication year and the year following.
- Use to see if Earlham has access to the journals or magazines that contain the reviews.
Book Review Digest (1905-1997)
Ref Z 1219 .C9 (Special Shelving -- Government Documents)
Book Review Index (1965-2002)
Ref Z 1035 .A1 B6 (Special Shelving -- Government Documents)
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals (1802-1974)
Ref Z 1035 .A1 C7 (Special Shelving -- Government Documents)
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals (1886-1974)
Ref Z 1035 .A1 C6 (Special Shelving -- Government Documents)
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, 2018 Fall Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095