Earlham Libraries Home: HIST 482: American Historiography: Articles

Finding Known Articles

Locate a bibliographic citation. Look at the list of sources in subject encyclopedias and bibliographies.
Determine if the source is a book or an article in a journal. Some clues
Does it have volume and/or issue numbers? Does the date include a month? Then it's most likely from a journal.
Is a publisher and/or place of publication included in the citation? Then it is probably from a book.
Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
- Book: Search the Library Catalog -- It will tell you if Earlham or any other libraries own the item.
- Journals: Search "Find It @ Earlham Libraries" . It can determine if we have access to a journal.
What if we don't own it? Request it from another through interlibrary loan. Log into Tipasa to create the request or use the Interlibrary Loan links in WorldCat and article databases. Interlibrary Loan is free for students!

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for finding articles on US and Canadian history. Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,700 journals in over 40 languages back to 1964.
In the limits you can narrow your search results to articles covering specific ranges of years. Can also limit by language.
Adding "Historiography" as a keyword to a search can help find articles with that term in the abstract and/or the subject fields.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
Provides a selective and critical analysis of new historical books, journals and journal articles.
Organized by country of topic.
1913-2012
Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature --- Publishers website link
Browse or search all article citations, including the most recent year and the years 1913 through 1998 which are not included in Academic Search Premier. Use interlibrary loan to request articles.